Skip to main content

Sustainability Committee

Sustainability Committee

The purpose of the Sustainability Committee (SusCom) of Swarthmore College is to make recommendations to the President and to the College community regarding policies to promote environmental sustainability on campus. The Committee focuses on identifying policies and practices that promote the most efficient and responsible use of College resources; monitoring funds and grants pertaining to environmental sustainability; and coordinating and support campus sustainability initiatives and efforts.

2017-2018 Members

Name Title
Alliyah Lusuegro '20 Current Student
Andrew Barclay Assistant Director of Student Life, Leadership, and Engagement
Anne O'Donnell Associate Director of Individual Giving
Anthony Coschignano Executive Director of Auxiliary Services
Aurora Winslade Director of Sustainability
Ben Berger Executive Director of the Lang Center for Civic & Social Responsibility; Associate Professor of Political Science
Carr Everbach Professor & Chair of Engineering
Chris Graves Associate Professor of Chemistry & Environmental Studies
Ellen Ross Professor of Religion
Eric Wagner Head Men's Soccer Coach; Co-Chair
Gigi Simeone Pre-Law Advisor
Giovanna Di Chiro Professor of Environmental Studies
Greg Brown Vice President for Finance & Administration
H.G. Chissell '96 Alumni Representative
Joy Charlton Professor of Sociology
Lillian Price '20 Current Student
Linda McDougall Director of Dining Services
Mark Davis Technical Support Specialist
​Melissa Tier '14 Sustainability Program Manager
Nathaniel Graf '16 Climate Action Senior Fellow
Ralph Thayer Director of Maintenance; Co-Chair
Sheila Magee '81 Gardener
Sierra Spencer '18 Current Student
Sue MacQueen Scott Arboretum Community Outreach Coordinator
Susan Kelly Community Member
Tyrone Dunston Director of Environmental Services

Annual Membership

Membership of the Sustainability Committee is populated through the following categories (individuals may fulfill more than one category):

  • Two co-chairs
  • Office of Sustainability staff
  • Chairs of working groups
  • Three students appointed by SGO
  • Three faculty members appointed by COFP
  • ​One non-staff/faculty alumni representative
  • Staff representation from the following departments:
    • Admissions
    • Advancement
    • Athletics
    • Auxiliary Services
      • Dining Services
    • Dean's Office
      • Office of Student Engagement
    • Facilities
      • Capital Planning
      • Environmental Services
      • Grounds
      • Maintenance
    • ITS

    • Lang Center for Civic and Social Responsibility
    • President's Office