Skip to main content

Secondary Certification


Areas of Certification

The department offers a secondary (7-12) teacher certification in biology, chemistry, English, history, mathematics, physics, social studies, and citizenship. The department also offers a K-12 certification in French, German, Russian, and Spanish.

Students must complete a major or special major in their area of certification. Majors or special majors in history, economics, or political science receive secondary certification in either citizenship or social studies, and majors or special majors in psychology or sociology/anthropology receive secondary certification in social studies.

1. Required Educational Studies Courses

In order to be certified, students should fulfill all of the state general distribution requirements.  In addition, students must take the following courses in Educational Studies:

2. Required Courses in Major

In addition to the major or special major in the discipline of certification, students must complete subject-specific requirements that may or may not differ from the special major or general major requirements already in place at Swarthmore. Students should refer to the subject-specific requirements charts for additional information.