Skip to main content

Sanctuary Committee

students on Parrish porch

The Sanctuary Committee envisions Swarthmore as a place where all students, regardless of immigration status, have the same opportunities to learn, live, and enjoy full membership in the College community.

Our task is to identify and remedy areas of College programming and/or practice in which we are not yet fulfilling this vision. 

Members (2023-24)

Sangina Patnaik


Associate Professor

English Literature


  1. Phone: (610) 328-8150
  2. Eugene M. and Theresa Lang Performing Arts Center 304
  3. Office Hours:

    Spring 2024: Mondays 10am-12pm


Elaine Allard

Associate Professor

Director, Teaching & Learning Commons

Educational Studies


  1. Phone: (610) 328-8635
  2. Pearson Hall 203
Smiling photo of Elaine Allard

Alejandra Azuero-Quijano

Assistant Professor of Anthropology

Sociology & Anthropology-Anthropology


  1. Phone: (610) 328-8110
  2. Kohlberg Hall 242
  3. Office Hours:

    By Appointment
    Mondays, Kohl 242 , 12:30- 1:30pm 
    Thursdays, via Zoom, 1:00- 2:00pm

Professor Alejandra Azuera-Quijano

Marshall Smith

Assistant Professor

Modern Languages & Literatures-French & Francophone Studies

Black Studies

Gender & Sexuality Studies


  1. Phone: (610) 690-3357
  2. Kohlberg Hall 341
  3. Office Hours:

    Wednesdays 4-6 p.m.

Interests: Francophone and Anglophone Caribbean Literatures and Cultures, African Diaspora Studies, Visual and Material Cultures, Critical Theory, Black Geographies, Africana Philosophy, and Queer Studies.

Marshall Smith

Jennifer Marks-Gold

Assistant Dean & Director of International Student Programs

Student Affairs


  1. Phone: (610) 328-8361
  2. Hormel-Nguyen Intercultural Center 110
Jennifer Marks Gold

Lesley Reyes Pina

International Student Coordinator

Student Affairs


  1. Phone: (610) 328-7326
  2. Hormel-Nguyen Intercultural Center 104

Sharmaine LaMar

General Counsel, CLO

Office of General Counsel


  1. Phone: (610) 690-5675
  2. 101 South Chester Road 204
sharmaine lamar

Student Liaisons (2023-24)

Zeynep Emanet; Pedro Ennes; Giselle Vigil