Skip to main content


The A. E. Newton Award is the longest-running collegiate book collecting competition in the nation. Started in the 1930s by a renowned Philadelphia book collector, A. Edward Newton, the competition awards cash prizes to the three Swarthmore College students who submit the best essays and annotated bibliographies of their book collections. Watch for application announcements late in the Fall semester and early in the Spring.

The McCabe Mile race is held each spring on the Lower Level of McCabe. Begun in the 1970s as a study break, the mile race is run around the perimeter of the stacks 18 times. First prize is a roll of Scott Toilet Paper.

The Moore Student Fellowship supports research on a topic of your choice in the Friends Historical Library or Peace Collection. Recipients receive $500 to spend one week in the collections.