Skip to main content

About the McCabe Scholarship

About the McCabe Scholarship


Established in 1952, the Thomas B. McCabe '15 Achievement Award recognizes applicants to Swarthmore who have exhibited exceptional academic achievement, character, and leadership qualities, especially in service to their school and local community. At a minimum, it is a four-year, full-tuition scholarship awarded to:

  • at least two incoming students who live or attend school in Southeastern Pennsylvania (Chester, Delaware, Montgomery, and Philadelphia counties);
  • at least two incoming students who live or attend school in the Delmarva peninsula (all of Delaware and the eastern shores of Maryland or Virginia);
  • at least three incoming students from the rest of the United States;
  • at least one incoming international student;
  • at least one transfer student.

The McCabe Achievement Award is given based exclusively on merit, and may be increased up to the full cost of tuition, fees, housing, and food, depending on determined financial need. 

Application Process

Beyond an application for admission to Swarthmore, no additional materials are required to be considered for the McCabe Achievement Award. Finalists are chosen from the general applicant pool by the McCabe Selection Committee and notified of their candidacy. Students not named McCabe Scholars are still eligible for admission to Swarthmore and loan-free, need-based financial aid

McCabe Scholars

While enrolled at Swarthmore, McCabe Scholars participate in service projects and networking events, help coordinate the annual Thomas B. McCabe Lecture Series, and receive support from Swarthmore’s Center for Innovation and Leadership and Career Services, which cultivate leadership development and design thinking retreats for the group. After graduating, they remain active within a robust alumni community of McCabe Scholars, who gather annually for a spring banquet.