Lang Center
for Civic & Social Responsibility

Debating for Democracy

Debating for Democracy (D4D)™ inspires students to become successful advocates in their communities. To encourage engaged citizenship, Project Pericles requests original letters to elected officials from teams (two or more students) at Periclean colleges and universities. A panel of judges will select the winning teams for the 2018 D4D competition.

Five teams from five different colleges will win $500 to work on their issue.


Participants must

a) be a full-time undergraduate;

b) be a first year, sophomore, or junior student during spring 2018;

c) write and mail a letter (no more than 1200 words) to an elected official advocating for a legislative solution to contemporary problem;

d) provide a 2-page project proposal that is relevant to the legislative solution you advocate for; and

e) return to campus in the 2018-19 academic year so as to insure that winning teams can work on their project together.

Students will be expected to carry out significant advocacy and educational activities to advance their issue during the 2018-2019 academic year. 

Selection Process

Students must submit their letter and project proposal by 10 AM on Friday, March 9, 2018. We will review each letter and select up to four to forward to Project Pericles. The names of all of the students who worked on each letter must be sent to Project Pericles. All letters should be mailed by the students to the appropriate elected official by March 16.

A committee consisting of people with significant experience in public policy will review the submitted letters and project proposals using the criteria below. Based on this review, the five winning teams will be selected. Project Pericles will announce the five winning teams in April 2018.

Important Dates

March 9, 2018 — All letters and project proposals are due to Jennifer Magee (jmagee1) by 10 AM on Friday, March 9.  Be sure to mail a copy of your letter to the appropriate U.S. Senator, U.S. Representative, State Senator or State Representative!

April 2018 — Five winning teams announced after review by a panel of experts.