Skip to main content

Maintenance

Maintenance

The Maintenance Department supports all aspects of the facilities infrastructure at Swarthmore College. The staff consists of 29 full-time skilled professionals including carpenters, electricians, plumbers, painters, HVAC Technicians, Boiler Operators and Maintenance Mechanics. This team handles about 12,000 work and preventative maintenance requests each year.

If you have a maintenance emergency, call 610-328-8280. If no one answers, contact Public Safety at 610-328-8333, and they can contact a maintenance staff member for you.

For non-urgent maintenance requests, please email workbox@swarthmore.edu.

Key Staff Contacts

Ralph Thayer, Director of Maintenance
610-328-8278
rthayer1@swarthmore.edu

Bill Maguire, Clerk of the Works
(610)690-2061
wmaguir1@swarthmore.edu

Butch Devlin, Paint Crew Supervisor
(610)328-8500
bdevlin1@swarthmore.edu

Domenic Porrini, Heat Plant/Energy Supervisor
(610)328-8277
dporrin1@swarthmore.edu

Rob Torres, Maintenance Crew Supervisor
(610)328-8280
rtorres1@swarthmore.edu

Chuck Breischaft, College Locksmith
(610)328-5397
Locks@swarthmore.edu

Patti Braun, Facilities Purchaser
(610)328-8289
pbraun1@swarthmore.edu

Carolyn Vance, Work Request Manager
(610)328-8280
workbox@swarthmore.edu

Larry Gloner, Inventory Control Coordinator
(610)690-5520
lgloner1@swarthmore.edu