Skip to main content

November 4, 2015: College Self-Study Results

Dear Swarthmore Community Members,

Last spring, many of you shared your thoughts and experiences as members of this community by completing the Swarthmore College Self-Study on Learning, Working, and Living. We are writing to invite you to hear about the results.

Two open meetings will be held on Fri., Nov. 13, in the LPAC Cinema – the first from 10:30 a.m. to noon and the second from 12:30 to 2 p.m.

Both meetings will be led by Sue Rankin, whose firm, Rankin & Associates, conducted the self-study survey and processed the results. There will be time to ask questions during both meetings.

As was articulated at the beginning of this self-study process in Fall 2014, the goal is to identify what we each expect and experience as members of this community. By identifying what is working and what opportunities and challenges may exist, we will be able to better define our collective aspirations as members of the Swarthmore College community. You can learn more about this effort at

Thank you for your participation in this important effort.


Val Smith, President

Liz Braun, Dean of Students

On behalf of the organizing committee:

Diane Anderson (chair), associate dean for academic affairs and associate professor, Educational Studies Department

Betsy Durning, administrative assistant, Dean's Office

Zenobia Hargust, director, Equal Opportunity and Engagement

Meghan Kelly '18

Louis Laine '16

Mohammed Lotif, assistant director, Intercultural Center

Bakirathi Mani, associate professor, English Literature Department

Sheila Magee '81, gardener

Lynne Molter '79, professor, Engineering Department

Jen Moore, administrative assistant, History Department

Elliott Nguyen '17

Christi Pappert, administrative coordinator, Facilities and Services

Aixa Pomales, director of client services, ITS

Robin Huntington Shores, director of institutional research and assessment

William Turpin, professor, Classics Department

Robert Weinberg, professor, History Department

Kaaren Williamsen, Title IX coordinator