Skip to main content

New Members of Swarthmore's Board of Managers Begin Term This Week

New members of Swarthmore's Board of Managers will begin their term at this fall's board meeting on September 21-22. The five were appointed at the Board's meeting in May. The new members include:

Delvin Dinkins headshotDelvin Dinkins '93
, a long-time educator and the director of assessment and accountability for the Tredyffrin-Easttown School District in Berwyn, Pa. Dinkins was director of electronic learning for the Tredyffrin-Easttown School District from 2008-2010, principal of Valley Forge Elementary School from 2005-2008, assistant principal of Conestoga High School from 2001-2005, and an English teacher at Conestoga High School from 1995-2000. Prior to this appointment, Dinkins had served on the Swarthmore College Alumni Council as vice president and chair from 2006-2011.

Marilyn Holifield headshotMarilyn Holifield '69
, a business and employment law litigator. This year, she received the Gertrude Rush Award from the National Bar Association in recognition of her human and civil rights work and for being a model of excellence in the legal profession. In 2011, the Anti-Defamation League awarded her the Jurisprudence Award for her outstanding contributions to the legal profession and the community at large. Holifield joined Holland & Knight LLP in 1981 and became the first black female partner of a major Florida law firm in 1986. Holifield had served on the College's Board of Managers from 1994-1997.

Ann Reichelderfer headshotAnn Reichelderfer '72, a shareholder at Stevens & Lee PC, where she heads the firm's New Jersey estates and trusts practice and co-chairs its Higher Education Industry Group. She represents several higher education institutions in gift planning, trust and estate administration, and regulation compliance and counsels individual clients on tax and estate planning and charitable giving. In 1992, she helped found the Gift Planning Council of New Jersey, which works to advance the gift planning community to better serve donors and charities and increase support to charitable institutions.

Sujatha Srinivasan headshotSujatha Srinivasan '01
, a vice president in the securities division risk management group at Goldman, Sachs & Co. She had served on the College's Board of Managers from 2005-2009. During her first term, she served on several committees, including the academic affairs committee where she was vice chair, and the presidential search committee. Srinivasan is treasurer of the board of Legal Momentum, the nation's oldest legal defense and education fund dedicated to advancing the rights of women and girls.

Ruth Shoemaker Wood headshotRuth Shoemaker Wood '01, a consultant at Storbeck, Pimentel & Associates Executive Search Consulting and an adjunct assistant professor at Rider University, where she teaches leadership and student affairs courses in the organizational leadership graduate program. Wood published a book on former College president Frank Aydelotte, Transforming Campus Culture: Frank Aydelotte's Honors Experiment at Swarthmore College (2012). She served on the College's Alumni Council from 2007-2010.

The Board of Managers, which currently consists of 38 members, oversees the general management and welfare of Swarthmore College. Most of the board's work is done in committees and Swarthmore's president regularly participates in committee meetings. The Board of Managers meets four times a year.

Submissions Welcome

The Communications Office invites all members of the Swarthmore community to share videos, photos, and story ideas for the College's website. Have you seen an alum in the news? Please let us know by writing