The BCC's Staff

The Center's staff counsels, advises, and assists students and their organizations, and provides consultative services to other campus staff and student organizations.  The director/assistant dean and administrative assistant oversee the day-to-day operations of the Center. The staff is always open to students needing sound advice and strong support.


Staff

Dion Lewis
Dean of Junior Class and
Director, Black Cultural Center
Email: dlewis1@swarthmore.edu
Phone: (610) 328-8456
 

Bonnie Lytle
Administrative Assistant to the BCC
Email: dlytle1@swarthmore.edu
Phone: (610) 328-8456/Fax: (610) 690-5711

Nakia Waters
Program Coordinator, Black Cultural Center
Phone: (610) 690-5541
 
 

BCC Student Interns 

Programming Interns
Brandon Ekweonu '20
bekweon1@swarthmore.edu
 
Gabriel Evans '19
gevans2@swarthmore.edu
 
Wanjiku (Shiko) Njoroge '21
 
Terence (TJ) Thomas '21
House Managers 
Miranda (Millie) Amilcar '20
mamilca1@swarthmore.edu
 
Rasheed Bryan '20
 
Jolleen Opula '21
Research Interns
Joy George '20 
jgeorge2@swarthmore.edu
 
 
Christian Precise '21
 
Black Cultural Center (BCC) Library Coordinators
Charles (Charlie) Aprile '18
 
Bryton Fett '18

BCC Student Groups

2017-2018 SASS Executive Board:
President: Aynnichelle Slappy '20
Vice President: Wrenn Odim '20
Secretary: Taylor Tucker '20
Social Coordinator: Joy George '20
Civic & Political Action Coordinator: Coleman Powell '20
Outreach Coordinator: Alexis Riddick '20
 

2017-2018 SASA Executive Board:
President: Brandon Ekweonu '20 
VP: Evangeline Adjei-Danquah '20
Secretary: Joy George '20
Treasurer: Ibrahim M Tamale '20
Events Coordinator: Kaleb Forson '20
General Board Member: Maxine Annoh '18
 

2017-2018 SOCA Executive Board:
Presidents: Catherine Williams '19 and Rasheed Bryan '20
Treasurer: Catherine Williams '19 
Historian: Naja Smith '20
Outreach Coordinator: Zara Williams-Nicholas '19
Secretary: Lydia Koku '18 [temporary]
 

Swarthmore Gospel Choir
Co-Leaders: Elizabeth Gonzalez & Kayonna Tindle 

Gospel Choir Director: RayShawn Davidson
 

 

2016-2017 ROOTS (Black STEM Students)

Jessica Lewis ‘19 (jlewis2@swarthmore.edu

Jessica Malisa ‘19 (jmalisa1@swarthmore.edu)

 

2017-2018 ABLLE (shared with IC)

Co Presidents: Abdulrezak Kemal '19 & Angel Padilla '18