Skip to main content

The BCC's Staff

The Center's staff counsels, advises, and assists students and their organizations, and provides consultative services to other campus staff and student organizations.  The director/assistant dean and administrative assistant oversee the day-to-day operations of the Center. The staff is always open to students needing sound advice and strong support.


Staff

Dion Lewis
Dean of Junior Class and Director, Black Cultural Center
Email: dlewis1@swarthmore.edu
Phone: (610) 328-8456

Simone Hayes
Administrative Assistant to the BCC
Email: shayes3@swarthmore.edu
Phone: (610) 328-8456
Fax: (610) 690-5711

Nakia Waters
Program Coordinator, Black Cultural Center
Email: nwaters1@swarthmore.edu
Phone: (610) 690-5541


BCC Student Interns 

Programming Interns

AJ Adelekan  '23
aadelek1@swarthmore.edu 

Brandon Ekweonu '20
bekweon1@swarthmore.edu

Haron Kalii  '23
hkalii1@swarthmore.edu

Musa Salaam '22
msalaam1@swarthmore.edu 

Terence (TJ) Thomas '21
tthomas2@swarthmore.edu

House Managers 

Millie Amilcar '20
mamilca1@swarthmore.edu 

Rasheed Bryan '20
rbryan1@swarthmore.edu

Winfred Nemlin '20
wnemlin1@swarthmore.edu 

Research Interns

Angeline Etienne '22
aetienn1@swarthmore.edu 

Ayo George '22
ageorge3@swarthmore.edu  

Joy George '20 
jgeorge2@swarthmore.edu

 
Web Design Intern
 
TBA

Black Cultural Center (BCC) Library Coordinators

TBA

 

BCC Student Groups


2019-2020 SASS Executive Board:
Co-Presidents: Wrenn Odim '20 & Taylor Tucker '20
Vice President: Alexis Riddick '20
Secretary: Destiny Samuel '22
Admissions/Alumni Liaison - Mikayla Purnell '22
Civic & Political Action Coordinator: Eva Logan '22
Outreach Coordinator: TBD

2019-2020 SASA Executive Board:
Co-Presidents: Tolu Banjo '22 and Beluchi Okoronkwo '22 
VP: Elvis Adorkor '22
Secretary: TBD
Treasurer: TBD
Events Coordinator: Biruh Tesfa Dejene '22
Outreach Coordinator - Jolleen Opula '21

2019-2020 SOCA Executive Board:
Co-Presidents: Joe Green '21 & Maleyah Peterson '21
Treasurer: Patricia Bautista '23 
Historian - Angeline Etienne 22'  
Outreach Coordinator: TBD
Secretary: TBD

Swarthmore Gospel Choir
Co-Leaders: Elizabeth Gonzalez & Kayonna Tindle 
Gospel Choir Director: RayShawn Davidson
 

2019-2020 ABLLE
 President - JJ Balisanyuka-Smith '21

2019-2020 NSBE
 President - Quentin Millette '20