Skip to main content

The BCC's Staff

The Center's staff counsels, advises, and assists students and their organizations, and provides consultative services to other campus staff and student organizations.  The director/assistant dean and administrative assistant oversee the day-to-day operations of the Center. The staff is always open to students needing sound advice and strong support.


Staff

Dion Lewis
Dean of Junior Class and Director, Black Cultural Center
Email: dlewis1@swarthmore.edu
Phone: (610) 328-8456

Simone Hayes
Administrative Assistant to the BCC
Email: shayes3@swarthmore.edu
Phone: (610) 328-8456
Fax: (610) 690-5711

Nakia Waters
Program Coordinator, Black Cultural Center
Email: nwaters1@swarthmore.edu
Phone: (610) 690-5541


BCC Student Interns 

Programming Interns

Brandon Ekweonu '20
bekweon1@swarthmore.edu

Tinbite Kelemwork '22
tkelemw1@swarthmore.edu 

Musa Salaam '22
msalaam1@swarthmore.edu 

Terence (TJ) Thomas '21
tthomas2@swarthmore.edu

House Managers 

Rasheed Bryan '20
rbryan1@swarthmore.edu

James Garcia '19
jgarcia1@swarthmore.edu 

Winfred Nemlin '20
wnemlin1@swarthmore.edu 

Jolleen Opula '21
jopula1@swarthmore.edu

Research Interns

Angeline Etienne '22
aetienn1@swarthmore.edu 

Ayo George '22
ageorge3@swarthmore.edu  

Joy George '20 
jgeorge2@swarthmore.edu

Sara Laine '21
slaine1@swarthmore.edu

Catherine Williams '19
cwillia5@swarthmore.edu 

 
Web Design Intern
 
Navdeep Maini '19

nmaini1@swarthmore.edu 

Black Cultural Center (BCC) Library Coordinators

David Vacianna '19
dvacian1@swarthmore.edu 

Thomas Stanton '19
​​​​​​​tstanto1@swarthmore.edu 

 

BCC Student Groups


2017-2018 SASS Executive Board:
President: Aynnichelle Slappy '20
Vice President: Wrenn Odim '20
Secretary: Taylor Tucker '20
Social Coordinator: Joy George '20
Civic & Political Action Coordinator: Coleman Powell '20
Outreach Coordinator: Alexis Riddick '20
 

2017-2018 SASA Executive Board:
President: Brandon Ekweonu '20 
VP: Evangeline Adjei-Danquah '20
Secretary: Joy George '20
Treasurer: Ibrahim M Tamale '20
Events Coordinator: Kaleb Forson '20
General Board Member: Maxine Annoh '18
 

2017-2018 SOCA Executive Board:
Presidents: Catherine Williams '19 and Rasheed Bryan '20
Treasurer: Catherine Williams '19 
Historian: Naja Smith '20
Outreach Coordinator: Zara Williams-Nicholas '19
Secretary: Lydia Koku '18 [temporary]
 

Swarthmore Gospel Choir
Co-Leaders: Elizabeth Gonzalez & Kayonna Tindle 
Gospel Choir Director: RayShawn Davidson

 

2016-2017 ROOTS (Black STEM Students)
Jessica Lewis ‘19 (jlewis2@swarthmore.edu
Jessica Malisa ‘19 (jmalisa1@swarthmore.edu)
 

2017-2018 ABLLE (shared with IC)
Co Presidents: Abdulrezak Kemal '19 & Angel Padilla '18