Skip to main content

Awards and Recognition

Class of 2022 Seniors with Staff Member

BCC Senior Banquet Class of 2022

There are several prestigious awards which recognize the achievements and contributions of members of the Swarthmore Black Community. All awards are exhibited in the Black Cultural Center Robinson House.

  • The Black Alumni Prize

    First presented in 1986 and sponsored by Swarthmore's Black Alumni, it is awarded annually to honor the sophomore or junior Black student(s) who has shown exemplary academic performance and community service.
  • James H. Batton '72 Award

    Endowed in the memory of James H. Batton '72 by G. Isaac Stanley '73 and Ava Harris Stanley, MD '72, it is awarded to the student(s) who has demonstrated personal growth or career development.
  • Kathyrn L. Morgan Award

    Headshot of Kathryn L. Morgan Installed in honor of one of the Black community's most cherished and revered elders, this award is given periodically to an adult member of the Swarthmore College Community in recognition of their significant contributions to the lives of African Americans at the College. These contributions may be in the areas of scholarship, professional services, student life, or mentoring. Inaugurated in 1992.
  • Jerry Wood Memorial Excellence and Leadership Award

    Illustration of Jerry Wood Presented in commemoration of this ancestor's commitment to the Black Community, recognizes the student who has demonstrated outstanding leadership, scholarship and has made a significant contribution to the Africana Community. Inaugurated in 2000.
  • The Black Cultural Center Freshmen of the Year Award

    Acknowledges a first year student(s), who has been an exceptional leader and made significant contributions to the Black community. Inaugurated in 2000.
  • The Black Cultural Center Leadership Award

    Commends the graduating senior(s) who sustained the legacy of Black student leadership through representative and constructive activism. Inaugurated in 2000.
  • The Black Cultural Center's Director's Special Recognition Award

    Given to those students who have proudly represented the Black community to the campus. Inaugurated in 2000.
  • The Chuck James Literary Prize

    Headshot of Chuck James Awarded to the graduating senior who has made the greatest contribution to the literary life of the Black Community. Inaugurated in 2005.