2012 Lois Morrell And John Russell Hayes Poetry Contest

The Department of English Literature announces its annual poetry contests for the following prizes: The LOIS MORRELL Poetry Prize of $500 and the JOHN RUSSELL HAYES Poetry Prizes of $400 and $300. Interested students should submit entries of up to five typed pages (no more than one poem per page) to the English Department Office (LPAC 202) by FRIDAY, MARCH 16 at 4:00 p.m. Poems that have won previous Morrell and Hayes Awards are not eligible for this year's contest. One of the John Russell Hayes Prizes has traditionally been awarded for translation. Students who submit translated work should be sure to include a copy of the poem(s) in the original language with their submissions.

The judge for the 2012 Awards is poet Denise Duhamel. Denise Duhamel is the author of numerous books and chapbooks, including most recently Ka-Ching! (2009), Two and Two (2005), Queen for a Day: Selected and New Poems (2001), The Star-Spangled Banner, winner of the Crab Orchard Poetry Prize (1999); and Kinky (1997), a collection inspired by Barbie dolls. Duhamel has also collaborated with Maureen Seaton on three volumes: Little Novels (2002), Oyl (2000), and Exquisite Politics (1997). Duhamel teaches creative writing and literature at Florida International University and lives in Hollywood, Florida. Denise Duhamel will read from her recent work and announce this year's prizes in poetry on Thursday April 5 at 7:30 in the Scheuer Room.