Awards & Prizes

The Dorothy Ditter Gondos Award was bequeathed by Victor Gondos Jr. in honor of his wife, Class of 1930. It is given every other year by a faculty committee to a student of Swarthmore College who submits the best paper on the subject dealing with a literature of a foreign language. The prize is awarded in the spring semester. Preference is given to essays based on works read in the original language. The prize is awarded under the direction of the Literature Committee.

The John Russell Hayes Poetry Prizes are offered for the best original poem or for a translation from any language.

The Philip M. Hicks Prizes are endowed by friends of Philip M. Hicks, former professor of English and chairman of the English Literature Department. They are awarded to the students who submit the best critical essays on any topic in the field of literature.

The Lois Morrell Poetry Award, given by her parents in memory of Lois Morrell '46, goes to the student who has submitted the best original poem in the annual competition for this award. The fund also supports campus readings by visiting poets.

The Morrell-Potter Summer Stipend in Creative Writing, intended to enable a summer's writing project, is awarded by the English Literature Department to a poet or fiction writer of exceptional promise in the spring of the junior year.

The William Plumer Potter Public Speaking Fund and Prize in Fiction was established in 1927. It provides funds for the collection of recorded literature and sponsors awards for the best student short stories. The fund is also a major source of funds for campus appearances by poets and writers.