Skip to main content

Crum Woods Stewardship Committee

examining the flora at Crum Woods

The Crum Woods Stewardship Committee (CWSC) of Swarthmore College is charged with recommending policies on the uses of the Crum Woods to the College community.

Appointed Committee Members

  • Hansjakob Werlen, Professor and Section Head of German Studies (Committee Co-Chair)
  • Randall Exon, Sara Lawrence Lightfoot Professor of Art 
  • Jeff Jabco, Director of Grounds & Coordinator of Horticulture for the Scott Arboretum (Committee Co-Chair)
  • Claire Sawyers, Director of the Scott Arboretum

President's Sustainability Research Fellow (PSRF) Student Representatives

  • Slate Lauby '24, 2023-2024 President's Sustainability Research Fellow

  • Chris Folk '24 2023-2024 President's Sustainability Research Fellow

Ex-officio Friends of the Committee

  • Cynthia Ruimin Shi '23, Sustainability & Engaged Scholarship Fellow, Office of Sustainability 
  • Maurice Eldridge ’61

  • Andy Feick, Associate Vice President for Sustainable Facilities Operation

  • Sue MacQueen, Campus Engagement Coordinator, Scott Arboretum

  • José-Luis Machado, Associate Professor of Ecology

  • Lars Rasmussen, Horticultural Staff, Scott Arboretum

  • Betsy Bolton, Alexander Griswold Cummins Professor of English
  • Nick Forrest, Marketing and Communications Specialist 

The Crum Woods Stewardship Committee was formed by Provost Jennie Keith in October, 2000 as an ad-hoc committee of faculty, students, and administrators. In December, 2000, the committee established the following goal statement: "Our goal is to create a protection, restoration, and stewardship plan for Crum Woods. The planning effort will begin with an evaluation of biodiversity, teaching and recreational resources in the context of the College's educational mission and its commitment to social responsibility. The committee will develop the plan in collaboration with College faculty, staff, and students as well as stakeholders in surrounding communities, and will engage the services of professional experts."