Skip to main content

Commencement 2014

commencement 2014

Department Overview

At Swarthmore's 142nd commencement on June 1, President Rebecca Chopp awarded honorary degrees to renowned scholar and writer Thomas Laqueur '67, noted documentary photographer and author Barbara Norfleet '47, gifted vocalist and composer Vaneese Thomas '74, and Congressman Christopher Van Hollen '83. In addition, 367 undergraduates were awarded degrees at the ceremony, held at the Scott Amphitheater.

Of the 367 graduates, 358 received the Bachelor of Arts degree and 24 the Bachelor of Science in engineering degree. Fifteen had double degrees. Highest honors were awarded to eight graduates, 41 received high honors, and 32 received honors. The senior class speaker, as voted by his classmates, was Morgan Williams '14 from Reading, Pa., who graduated with majors in political science and psychology.

Special awards announced at the ceremony include the Ivy, Oak Leaf, Lang, and McCabe Engineering Awards.

Assistant Professor of Political Science Ayse Kaya and Haydil Henriquez '14 addressed the senior class at Last Collection on May 30. Speakers at this address, an assembly-style gathering, are chosen by the senior class. Henry C. and Charlotte Turner Professor of Philosophy Hans Oberdiek addressed the graduating class at Baccalaureate services on May 31. The Baccalaureate is the spiritual component of Commencement weekend, featuring the inspirational remarks of a friend of the College.