Skip to main content

Kathryn Morgan Award Winners

Awards on the BCC wall

The Black Cultural Center bestows several awards which recognize the achievements and contributions of members of the Swarthmore Black community. These awards are exhibited in the Black Cultural Center.

The Kathryn L. Morgan Award, established and bestowed upon its namesake in 1991, honors someone chosen by students for their significant contributions to the College’s Black community. These are the recipients.


Gloria Thomas Walker

From 1986-1993, Gloria Thomas Walker worked as associate director of admissions and director of minority recruiting to increase the enrollment of students of color. Honored 1992-93.

Jane JamesChuck James

Jane James worked for 30 years at the College, primarily in ITS, and retired in 2006. Her husband, Chuck James, taught in the English Literature Department 32 years, retiring in 2005, the same year a literary prize was established in his honor. Together, they have mentored and supported generations of Swarthmore students, alumni, and colleagues. Honored 1996-97.

Linda Echols

For 26 years, Linda Echols served as the director of Worth Health Center. She also oversaw student groups and had stints as a dean, equal opportunity officer, and BCC director. Many alums know her home as “Hotel Linda." Honored 1997-98.

Maurice Eldridge

Maurice Eldridge '61 retired in 2016 as vice president for community and college relations after 27 years at the College. His enduring support of the Chester Children's Chorus has been critical to its longevity and success. A community service award named in his honor was established in 2016. Honored 2000-01.

Yvette Johnson

Yvette Johnson worked in dining services from 1994 to 2008. Honored 2005-06.

Vivian Hart

Vivian Hart worked in Environmental Services for more than 30 years. She was also a longtime member of the Learning for Life program. Honored 2006-07.

Allison Dorsey

Professor of History Allison Dorsey's academic interests include the history of African Americans, the 20th-century civil rights movement, and African American film. She is a past Black Studies program coordinator and is the founding director of the Swarthmore Summer Scholars Program. Honored 2008-09.

Darryl Smaw

Darryl Smaw came to Swarthmore in 2002 and retired as senior class dean and associate dean of multicultural affairs in 2011. Honored 2010-11.

Nina Johnson

Associate Professor of Sociology and Black Studies Nina Johnson studies culture, race, and mobility. She is a past Black Studies program coordinator and her current research focuses on the impacts of mass incarceration. Honored 2013-14.

Cheryl Jones-Walker

Assistant Professor of Black Studies and Educational Studies Cheryl Jones-Walker taught at Swarthmore from 2007-2015. Honored 2014-15.

Micheline Rice

Associate Professor of French Micheline Rice-Maximin retired in 2021 after 30 years at the College. She was a longtime member of the Black Studies Program Committee. Honored 2015-16.

Don Thomas

After more than 20 years in Dining Services, Don Thomas is affectionately known as the Mayor of Swarthmore. Honored 2016-17.

Sarah Willie-LeBreton

Provost and dean of the faculty Sarah Willie-LeBreton came to Swarthmore in 1997 as an assistant professor of sociology. She is a past coordinator of Black Studies. Honored 2017-18.

Cynthia Jetter

Cynthia Jetter '74, former director of community partnerships and planning at the Lang Center, is known for her longtime service and leadership in the Chester community. Honored 2017-18.

Nakia Waters

Nakia Waters joined Swarthmore in 2017 as program coordinator of the Black Cultural Center and first generation/low-income initiatives. Honored 2018-19.

Syd Carpenter

Noted sculptor and Professor of Studio Art Syd Carpenter is a longtime member of the Black Studies Program Committee. Honored 2018-19.

Anthony Foy

Anthony Foy joined Swarthmore’s English literature faculty in 2005. He is a member of the Black Studies Program Committee and is a former coordinator of the Mellon Mays Undergraduate Fellowship Program. Honored 2019-20.

Bonnie Lytle

Devonia (Bonnie) Lytle served the BCC community for nearly 30 years. Honored 2019-20.

Joseph Derrick Nelson

Associate Professor of Educational Studies Joseph Derrick Nelson is the coordinator of Black Studies and the Mellon Mays Undergraduate Fellowship Program. Honored 2020-21.

Lorin Jackson

Lorin Jackson worked in McCabe Library from 2018-2021, primarily as the College’s research and instruction resident librarian and subject specialist for Black Studies. Honored 2020-21.