Skip to main content

Swarthmore to Host National Debate Tournament

Swarthmore to Host
National Debate Championships

by Alisa Giardinelli

peaslee debate team
Members of the Amos J. Peaslee Debate Society include Lucas Janes '11, president (front row, second from left), and co-convenors of the tournament Cyrus Stoller '10 (standing, second from left) and Chris Sawyer '10 (standing, fifth from right).

Swarthmore will host the American Parliamentary Debate Association (APDA) National Championships on Fri., Apr. 16, to Sun., Apr. 18. Preliminary rounds will be held in various locations across campus from Friday afternoon until Saturday, culminating in a keynote address, The Media World Gone Mad, by journalist Shelby Coffey at 4:30 p.m. in the LPAC Cinema. Elimination rounds featuring the top 16 teams will be held on Sunday, with the grand final round to be held at 3:30 p.m. in Science Center 101. All events are free and open to the public. Approximately 80 teams from colleges and universities from across the country are expected to attend.

The tournament is sponsored by the College's Amos J. Peaslee Debate Society, named for an alumnus who served as an ambassador to Australia and as the first secretary-general of the International Bar Association. Swarthmore's debate society has existed and participated in collegiate debate for over 130 years. The group last hosted nationals in 2004.