Skip to main content

Mock Trial Team Wins Individual, Group Honors

Mock Trial Team Wins
Individual, Group Honors

by Alisa Giardinelli

mock trial team
From left: Ruby Bhattacharya '11, Jonathan Schaefer '11 (holding the Spirit of AMTA award), William King '13, Natasha Tonge '11, Quitterie Gounot '13, Klara Aizupitis '13, Nick Brown '13, and Johnny Taeschler '12.  .

Two teams from Swarthmore recently competed at the American Mock Trial Association's (AMTA) Atlantic Regional Tournament hosted by St. John's University in New York.  Johnny Taeschler '12 and Di Yan '13 were recognized as "Outstanding Witnesses" and one team was awarded the Spirit of AMTA award. Voted on by tournament competitors and presented by the AMTA, the Spirit of AMTA award is awarded to "the team that best exemplifies the ideals of honesty, civility, and fair play."

Mock trial team members include Jonathan Schaefer '11 (captain), Ruby Bhattacharya '11, Sarah Bricault '11, Natasha Tonge '11, Nicole Bernardi '12, Frederick Eyerer '12, Cindy Garo '12, Johnny Taeschler '12, Klara Aizupitis '13, Nick Brown '13, Quitterie Gounot '13, Rosanna Kim '13, William King '13, and Di Yan '13. Learn more about the team and how to join on Facebook.