Skip to main content

18 Swarthmore Alumni Receive NSF Graduate Research Fellowships

18 Swarthmore Alumni Receive
NSF Graduate Research Fellowships

by Stacey Kutish

Eighteen Swarthmore alumni are among the recently announced recipients of the 2010 National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowships and will receive a $30,000 stipend plus additional support for three years of graduate study. The program recognizes outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported science, technology, engineering, and mathematics disciplines who are pursuing research-based master's and doctoral degrees in the U.S. and abroad.

Swarthmore's 2010 NSF Graduate Research Fellows:

Students working in lab

Swarthmore students at work in the lab

Sa'ed Atshan '06
Benjamin Blonder '08
Elizabeth Bogal-Allbritten '09
Nathaniel Erb-Satullo '07
Scott Fortmann-Roe '08
John Hoyer '09
Stephan Hoyer '08
Jennifer Johnson '05
Lilian Lam '09
Julie Medero '03
Patrick Rock '09
Adam Roddy '06
Aaron Schwartz '09
Jennifer Spindel '10
Henry Swift '07
Corlett Wood '08
Talia Young '01
Barry Zee '08

The purpose of the Graduate Research Fellowship Program is to ensure the vitality of the scientific and technological workforce in the United States and to reinforce its diversity. Fellows are selected in part for their potential to become knowledge experts who will contribute significantly to research, teaching, and innovations in science and engineering.

These alumni carry forward Swarthmore's tradition of educating students who pursue graduate degrees. The College ranks third among U.S. colleges and universities in the percentage of graduates who obtain Ph.D.s.