Skip to main content

16 December 2009

Staff Advisory Council
Meeting Minutes for 16 December 2009

Mary Marissen convened the meeting at 9:30 in the Scheuer Room of Kohlberg Hall.

Members present:

Mary Marissen, Lois Falzone, Cathy Pescatore, Terry McGrath, Anna Headley, Tami Gura, Beth Baksi, Pat Hearty, Joe Deasey.

Ex-Officio members present:

Melanie Young, Sharmaine LaMar

Holiday Gathering Feedback

Feedback was positive in terms of logistics and refreshments. It was noted that in the future, holiday gatherings will take place after classes have concluded allowing faculty, who wish to join their staff members that are being honored, to attend.

Staff Development Program update

Sharmaine LaMar reported that registration for the new staff development program is off and running. Registration seems consistent among the various sessions with wellness being the most popular thus far. Registration can be done online through Monday, January 11, 2010. If you haven’t registered for a session and would like to attend, we encourage you to walk-in and, provided space is available, you are welcome to attend.

Holiday Study Group update

Anna Headley reported on behalf of the Holiday Study Group who is investigating paid time off and holidays among our comparison groups. They have been working hard and are nearing the conclusion of their study.

Ad Hoc Financial Planning Group/Board of Managers Decisions

Two SAC members shared concern from members of their circles about changes in the benefit bank program. A lengthy discussion was held on this topic and the concerns of staff affected by the changes are well understood and appreciated by SAC.

Since the Board approved the recommendations of the Ad Hoc Financial Planning Group, the Faculty-Staff benefits committee is working to determine how changes in this program will take effect. SAC hopes that FSBC will share some statistical information with the college community that may be contextually helpful. SAC intends to keep abreast of FSBC’s progress.

SAC encourages anyone with questions/concerns about the process or recommendations for the Faculty-Staff benefits committee to talk to a member of the committee, or their SAC representative.

Faculty & Staff Benefits Committee:

Staff representatives: Vince Vagnozzi, Anne Garrison, Jen Moore.

Faculty representatives: Steve Maurer, Mark Kuperberg, Stanley Exeter


Tracy Thompson (HR), Melanie Young (HR), Lisa Smulyan (Provost)

Anyone who wishes to review the approved recommendations can do so by visiting the Finance Office’s webpage at: [PDF]

The meeting concluded at approximately 10:45. Our next meeting will be held on Wednesday, January 20, 2010.