Skip to main content

Middle States Steering Committee

The Middle States Steering Committee comprises the co-chairs of each of the working groups and the Self-Study co-chairs.



Carol Nackenoff, Richter Professor of Political Science

Robin Shores, Director of Institutional Effectiveness, Research & Assessment


Standard 1 Mission and Goals

Varo Duffins, Director of Financial Aid

Sarah Willie-LeBreton, Professor of Sociology


Standard 2 Ethics and Integrity

Sharmaine Bradham LaMar, General Counsel and Assistant Secretary of the College

Steve O'Connell, Gil and Frank Mustin Professor of Economics


Standard 3 Design and Delivery of the Student Learning Experience

William Gardner, Associate Professor of Japanese

Lynne Steuerle Schofield, Associate Professor of Statistics  


Standard 4 Support of the Student Experience

James L. Bock ‘90, Vice President and Dean of Admissions

Tomoko Sakomura, Associate Professor of Art History and Associate Dean for Academic Affairs


Standard 5 Educational Effectiveness Assessment

David Harrison, Professor of Linguistics and Associate Provost  

Constance Hungerford, Mari S. Michener Professor of Art History and Department Chair


Standard 6 Planning, Resources, and Institutional Improvement

Sunka Simon, Professor, German Studies and Film and Media Studies and Associate Provost

Alice Turbiville, Assistant Vice President for Finance and Controller


Standard 7 Governance, Leadership, and Administration

Eric Jensen, Professor of Astronomy

Pamela Prescod-Caesar, Vice President for Human Resources


Unmapped Requirements and Verification of Compliance 

Andrew Danner, Associate Professor of Computer Science

Lesa Shieber, Associate Registrar