Skip to main content

Garnet Athletics Hall of Fame Ceremony

In front of a capacity crowd in the Matchbox during Garnet Weekend, the seventh class of Garnet Athletics Hall of Fame - consisting of Michele Fowler-Stewart ’86, Liz Gilbert Osterman ’77, Lee MacPhail Jr. ’39, Robert Ruffin ’92, Katie Tarr ’02, and the 1982–85 men’s lacrosse teams - was formally inducted.

Inductees spoke about their experiences at the College, the life lessons they learned on field and in the classroom, as well as the coaches, mentors, and teammates who helped them thrive. Andy MacPhail, president of the Philadelphia Phillies, spoke on behalf of his father, Lee MacPhail Jr. ’39, while former head lacrosse coach Jim Noyes spoke on behalf of the lacrosse dynasty. 

Established in 2012, the Garnet Athletics Hall of Fame honors the student-athletes and administrators who have contributed to the College's success. The 2018 class was chosen by a selection committee of staff, coaches, and alumni for their significant and distinctive impact on Swarthmore College athletics and the College itself. If you would like to nominate a former student-athlete, coach, or administrator, please send your nominations to the Garnet Athletics Hall of Fame.

Watch: 2018 Garnet Athletics Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony