Skip to main content

Commencement 2016

Department Overview

At Swarthmore's 144th commencement on May 29, President Valerie Smith awarded honorary degrees to film critic and cultural historian Leo Braudy '63, ecosystem ecologist F. Stuart "Terry" Chapin III '66, and world-renowned scholar and advocate for deaf communities Carol Padden. In addition, 359 undergraduates were awarded degrees at the ceremony, held at the Scott Amphitheater.

Of the 359 graduates, 346 received the Bachelor of Arts degree and 25 the Bachelor of Science in engineering degree. Twelve had double degrees. Highest honors were awarded to eight graduates, 45 received high honors, and 19 received honors. The senior class speaker, as voted by her classmates, was Rose Wunrow '16 from Montpelier, Vt., who graduated as an Honors English major and an Honors history minor with a French minor and an emphasis in creative writing.

Special awards announced at the ceremony include the Ivy, Oak Leaf, Lang, and McCabe Engineering Awards.

Dorwin P. Cartwright Professor of Social Theory and Social Action Barry Schwartz and Joe Boninger '16 addressed the senior class at Last Collection on May 27. Speakers at this address, an assembly-style gathering, are chosen by the senior class. Associate Professor of Political Science Cynthia Halpern addressed the graduating class at Baccalaureate services on May 28. The Baccalaureate is the spiritual component of Commencement weekend, featuring the inspirational remarks of a friend of the College.