Skip to main content

Update on Searches

October 11, 2018

Dear Friends,

As you know, we have embarked on searches for two senior-level administrators. I write with updates on both searches.

The vice president and dean of students search committee is as follows:

Greg Brown, vice president for finance and administration and treasurer

Isabelle Andrews ’20

Katherine Capossela ’21

Nathan Graf ’16, climate action senior fellow, Office of Sustainability

Mike Hill, director of Public Safety

Jeff Jabco, director of grounds

Liam Maniscalco ’22

Tomoko Sakomura, associate professor of art history, associate dean for academic affairs

Eric Song, associate professor of English literature

Sarah Willie-LeBreton, professor of sociology and anthropology and provost (chair)

The vice president for communications search committee consists of the following:

Joel Cooper, chief information technology officer

Chelsea Hicks ’14, special assistant for presidential initiatives

Brandon Hodnett, director of athletics communications

Cindi Leive ’88, member, Board of Managers

Jen Moore, administrative assistant, history; assistant coach, softball

Stephen O'Connell, Chair and Gil and Frank Mustin Professor of Economics

Valerie Smith, president (chair)


Dorothy Robinson ’72, partner at K&L Gates and former vice president and general counsel at Yale; Amy Graves, professor of physics; and Tania Johnson, director of sponsored programs, will also interview candidates for the communications position.

For both searches, we have engaged the services of Isaacson, Miller, a firm that has significant experience recruiting highly qualified candidates to leadership positions in higher education. They have been meeting with various stakeholders within the community to understand what Swarthmore is looking for in each position.

We will share updates regarding these searches as we are able, and we will include members of the community in interviews of finalists for each position, recognizing that confidentiality is often required in order to keep the strongest candidates in the pool and that fully public sessions may not be possible.

Please feel free to reach out to members of either search committee or Ed Rowe ( in my office with your thoughts, recommendations, or questions regarding the searches.



Valerie Smith