Student Academic Mentors

Student Academic Mentors

What's a SAM?

Student Academic Mentors — SAMs — are upper class students specially selected and trained to work with students on the development of skills necessary for academic success at Swarthmore such as time management, organization, study strategies and reading techniques.

SAMs draw on their personal experiences as well as their training to mentor peers. During the first few weeks of school SAMs are invaluable in helping first year students access all the resources available on campus.

How can I reach a SAM?

Any student may work with a SAM at any time.  A list of SAMs and their academic specializations is below for your reference.

Students interested in working with a SAM can also contact the Deans' Office at 610-328-8363 or email mmandos1@swarthmore.edu.

The 2016-17 SAMs are:







Assignment/Dorm First Name Last Name Class Email Academic areas of focus
Alice Paul Jong Seok 2017 jlee6 Ed Studies, Music
Alice Paul Lauren Knudson 2019 lknudso1 Political Science, Environmental Studies, Economics
Black Cultural Center Maxine Annoh 2018 mannoh1 Biology, French
Dana Ashley Greaves 2018 agreave1 Neuroscience, Educational Studies
Dana 3rd Hanan Ahmed 2019 hahmed1 Psychology, Arabic
Danawell Connector Soumba Traore 2018 straore1 Biology
Hallowell Alexander Jin 2019 ajin2 History, Philosophy
Dana/Hallowell Complex Ben TerMatt 2018 btermaa1 History, Political Science
David Kemp Bobby Zipp 2018 rzipp1 Political Science, English Literature
David Kemp Tim Nguyen 2019 tnguyen5 Engineering, Computer Science
Hallowell Alexander Jin 2019 ajin2 History, Philosophy
Mary Lyons Juhyae Kim 2019 jkim16 Computer Science, Linguistics
Mary Lyons Ben Warren 2019 bwarren1 Computer Science, Philosophy
Mary Lyons Mackinsey Smith 2019 msmith7 Math, Chemistry
Mertz Matthew Palmer 2018 mpalmer1 Physics, Economics
Mertz Annie Zhao 2018 azhao2 Computer Science, Political Science
Mertz Alison Rosenzweig 2018 arosenz1 Computer Science, Engineering, Studio Art
Parrish Alice Herneisen 2017 ahernei1 Chemistry, Biology
Parrish Henrik Liu 2019 hliu1 Computer Science, Statistics, Economics
Wharton AB Jerry Qin 2017 yqin1 Psychology, Film & Media Studies
Wharton AB Gurrein Madan 2017 gmadan1 Neuroscience
Wharton EF Sedinam Worlanyo 2017 sworlan1 Computer Science, Economic Development
Wharton EF Jigme Tobgyel 2017 jtobgye1 Math, Economics
Willets McKenzie Ward 2019 mward1 Math, Economics
Willets Daniel Green 2018 dgreen1 Physics, Computer Science
Willets Margaret Cohen 2019 mcohen4 Political Science, French
Willets Richard Conti 2019 rconti1 Math, Economics
           
At-Large Chris You 2017 dyou1 Biology, Political Science