Search the Bulletin

Alumni Achievements

Sherry Bellamy ’74

Sherry Bellamy ’74 was recently appointed to the board of National Medical Fellowships (NMF). NMF, a nonprofit organization, works to improve the health care experience of low-income and minority communities by providing financial support and opportunities to minority physicians and researchers. Bellamy, a vice president and deputy general for Verizon Business, has worked with [...]

David Kennedy ’80

designed the drug market elimination strategy for the High Point [N.C.] Police Department that earned them the 2007 Innovations in American Government Award from the Ash Institute for Democratic Governance and Innovation at Harvard University’s Kennedy School of Government last September. Kennedy, director of the Center for Crime Prevention and [...]

Melanie Reed Ingalls ’80

Melanie Reed Ingalls ’80, the vice president for education and outreach for The Trustees of Reservations, received four EXCEL awards from the Society of National Association Publications (SNAP) in July as the staff leader of The Trustees’ publications. The Trustees, the nation’s oldest statewide land trust and nonprofit conservation organization, located in Massachusetts, is dedicated [...]

Daniel Koltonski ’02

Daniel Koltonski ’02 was recently selected by the Woodrow Wilson National Fellowship Foundation to be a Charlotte W. Newcombe Doctoral Dissertation Fellow for 2008. The Newcombe Fellowship is “the nation’s largest and most prestigious award of its kind for Ph.D. students, addressing ethical and religious questions in the humanities and social sciences.” It awards $23,000 [...]

Howard Peelle ’65

Howard Peelle ’65 visited the Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (JAIST) this past spring on a Fulbright Senior Specialist grant. JAIST is a new independent national university in Ishikawa, Japan. During the six-week visit, Peelle interacted with computer science educators, assessed 80 courses in master’s and Ph.D. programs, and offered recommendations for advancing [...]

Peter Katzenstein ’67

Peter Katzenstein ’67 is president-elect of the American Political Science Association (APSA). Katzenstein is the Walter S. Carpenter Jr. Professor of International Studies at Cornell University. His work addresses issues of political economy, security, and culture in world politics. In 2005, Katzenstein was named a Cornell Stephen H. Weiss Presidential Fellow and, in 1993, received [...]

Richard Ortega ’73

Richard Ortega ’73 was inducted into the College of Fellows of the Association for Preservation Technology (APT) at the organization's annual conference in November. Ortega, architect and engineer, is senior associate and director of preservation technology at RMJM Hillier, in Philadelphia. At the induction, Ortega was recognized for leading symposia on Historic Timber Engineering and [...]

Charles Wilker ’77

Charles Wilker ’77 has been named a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE).  The IEEE Board of Directors awards the international honor of Fellow to a person with an extraordinary record of accomplishments in electrical, electronic, and computing technologies. Wilker received this honor for his contributions to microwave measurements of cryogenic [...]

Jerry Tersoff ’77

Jerry Tersoff ’77 has been awarded the 2007 Medard W. Welch Award for seminal theoretical contributions to the understanding of surfaces, interfaces, thin films, and nanostructure of electronic materials by the American Vacuum Society (AVS). A research staff member at the IBM T.J. Watson Center in Yorktown Heights, N.Y., Tersoff has also received the AVS [...]

Lisa Ginsburg ’97

Lisa Ginsburg ’97 was recently honored with the prestigious Zella Bronfman Butler Award for extraordinary community service achievements by the United Jewish Appeal (UJA) Federation of New York. The award, including a $10,000 cash gift, honors UJA agency professionals who exemplify the highest standards of service. Ginsburg, who was chosen for her compassionate commitment to [...]