Search the Bulletin

Alumni Achievements

Patricia Dilley ’73

Patricia Dilley ’73 recently received the Rockefeller Foundation Innovation Award for her tireless work and innovative policy proposals to strengthen Social Security for vulnerable groups. “She has spent a lifetime—as a congressional staffer, a private practitioner, and an academic—immersed in Social Security and pensions,” Alicia Munnell, professor and chair in management science at Boston College [...]

Susan Perkins Weston ’81

Susan Perkins Weston ’81 received the Vision Award from the Kentucky Association of School Councils (KASC) last fall. Weston, who was executive director of KASC for 13 years, was honored for her years of service to education reform. An attorney and education policy expert, Weston’s analysis of test score data identified some of Kentucky’s earliest [...]

Peter Vishton ’91

Peter Vishton ’91 recently received a William and Mary College Alumni Fellowship Award, which recognizes outstanding young faculty members. An associate professor of psychology, Vishton does his research in an unusual laboratory—a former hospital, a block off campus, where he and his students perform magic tricks for infants. Using colorful, handmade boxes and cylinders, he [...]

Jeffrey Sugg ’95

Jeffrey Sugg ‘95 recently shared a 2008 Obie Award for set and projection design and a 2008 Louise Lortel Award for best scenic design for the critically acclaimed new musical The Slug Bearers of Kayrol Island with collaborator Jim Findlay. A New York-based artist, designer, and technical adviser, Sugg also received a 2007 Bessie Award [...]

Ken Hechler ’35

Ken Hechler ’35 is the subject of the documentary film Ken Hechler: In Pursuit of Justice, which premiered at Marshall University in April (and was shown on West Virginia Public Television in September), where Hechler taught and was awarded an honorary doctorate in May. “It was a bit of a shock to discover they had [...]

Ernest Smith ’44

Ernest Smith ’44 recently received the 2008 Special Recognition Award from the U.S. National Committee for the International Union of Radio Science for his service to the organization and his contributions to the development of the Henry Booker Gold Medal and the Booker Fellow Award for Young Radio Scientists. Since graduating from Swarthmore, Smith’s specialty [...]

Beverly Bruhn Major ’57

was recognized in April by the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and Vermont Governor Jim Douglas for her service in improving the Connecticut River Watershed. Major received the President’s Volunteer Service Award, created by President Bush in 2002 to encourage and recognize volunteer service, and the 2008 [Vermont] Governor’s Award for Outstanding Community Service, which [...]

Janet Smith Warfield ’58

Janet Smith Warfield ’58 won the 2008 Next Generation Indie Book Award for the best new-age nonfiction and was a finalist in the self-help and spirituality categories for her 2007 book Shift: Change Your Words, Change Your World. Shift has been translated into Bulgarian and Russian. A self-described “mother, grandmother, poet, mediator, author, and practicing [...]

Joan Moffitt Larkin ’60

Joan Moffitt Larkin ’60 has received Publishing Triangle’s 2008 Audre Lorde Award for Lesbian Poetry for her book My Body: New and Selected Poems. The Los Angeles Times called Larkin’s work “poetry without pity, in which despair leads not to degradation but to a kind of grace.” She has also won the Lambda Award for [...]

Sara Lawrence-Lightfoot ’66

Sara Lawrence-Lightfoot ’66, a sociologist and the Emily Hargroves Fisher Professor of Education at Harvard, was recently elected to the American Philosophical Society, the oldest learned society in the United States. The Society provides “opportunities for multidisciplinary, intellectual fellowship.” Lawrence-Lightfoot, a member of the Board of Managers from 1981 to 1988, was honored by Swarthmore [...]