Search the Bulletin

Alumni Achievements

Jane Clough-Riquelme ’85

Jane Clough-Riquelme ’85 recently received the Paul Davidoff Award—the National Planning Achievement Award for Advancing Diversity and Social Change—from the American Planning Association. Tribal liaison for the San Diego Association of Governments (SANDAG), Clough-Riquelme works with the 17 federally recognized tribal nations in the San Diego area to facilitate their involvement in the regional planning [...]

Lourdes Rosado ’85

Lourdes Rosado ’85 has been named Citizen of the Year by the Philadelphia Inquirer for her work in juvenile justice. The award honors “people whose work has upheld the ideal of citizenship—promoting justice, strengthening democracy, or fostering community.” Rosado is an attorney and associate director at the Juvenile Law Center (JLC), a nonprofit organization in [...]

Katie Davenport ’05

Katie Davenport ’05 recently received a teaching fellowship from the Knowles Science Teaching Foundation (KSTF) that will provide her with financial and professional development for up to five years. The foundation aims specifically to improve the quality of science and mathematics education in high schools across the nation. “By investing in early-career teachers, KSTF is [...]

Edward Keenan III ’59

Edward Keenan III ’59 has been named a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the world’s largest general scientific society and the publisher of Science magazine. A distinguished professor of linguistics at the University of California–Los Angeles, Keenan was selected for “distinguished contributions in several subfields of linguistics including semantics, syntax, [...]

Caroline Acker ’68

Caroline Acker ’68 is a recipient of the Benjamin Rush Individual Public Health Award for her outstanding contributions to the betterment of the health and welfare of the citizens of Allegheny County. The award is sponsored annually by the Allegheny [Pa.] County Medical Society. An associate history professor at Carnegie Mellon University and author of [...]

T. Alexander Aleinikoff ’74

T. Alexander Aleinikoff ’74 has been named the United Nations deputy high commissioner for refugees. His mission is to safeguard the rights and well-being of the more than 34 million refugees and internally displaced people worldwide. According to United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) António Guterres, “Mr. Aleinikoff brings a rich combination of skills [...]

Madeline Barillo-Flagg ’78

Madeline Barillo-Flagg ’78 has been named Communicator of the Year (District One region) by the National Council for Marketing and Communications. District One covers Canada and the United States from Maine to Virginia. Director of marketing and public relations for Norwalk [Conn.] Community College (NCC), Barillo-Flagg was recognized for her special leadership and ability in [...]

Amy Nisana Ship ’84

Amy Nisana Ship ’84 is the recipient of the prestigious Schwartz Center Compassionate Caregiver Award, given by the Boston-based Kenneth B. Schwartz Center each year. The award recognizes the Massachusetts caregiver who best personifies the Center’s mission to “advance compassionate health care in which caregivers, patients, and their families relate to one another in a [...]

Joshua Green ’92

Joshua Green ’92 has been named Hawaii Physician of the Year by the Hawaii Medical Association. A member of the Hawaii State Senate (the 3rd District) since 2008 and an emergency room physician at Kohala Hospital in Kapaau and Kau Hospital in Pahala, Green is vice chair of the Senate Health Committee and is known [...]

Thomas Samuel ’94

Thomas Samuel ’94 has been recognized by the Medical College of Georgia (MCG) with the Outstanding Young Clinical Science Faculty Award, which is sponsored by the faculty senate, and the MCG School of Medicine Exemplary Teaching Award for Resident Education. Samuel is an assistant professor in the hemotology/oncology section of the school, teaching courses on [...]