Search the Bulletin

Alumni Achievements

Sabrina Martinez ’92

Sabrina Martinez ’92 is the recipient of Houston Woman Magazine’s 2011 Broad Shoulders Award, for which she was nominated by AVANCE Houston, an organization that promotes the value of education, better parenting, and health to influence the lives of low-income families. Martinez has been on the AVANCE board since 2009, drawn to the organization because [...]

Darko Tresnjak ’88

Darko Tresnjak ’88 has been named the fifth artistic director of Hartford Stage, a theater known for its production of original and classic shows for nearly 50 years. Renowned for his direction of theater and opera, Tresnjak has received awards from the San Diego Theatre Critics Circle for outstanding direction of Cyrano de Bergerac, The [...]

Wilma Lewis ’78

Wilma Lewis ’78 has been nominated by President Barack Obama and confirmed by the United States Senate to serve as a federal district court judge in the U.S. Virgin Islands. She is the first woman to serve as a federal judge in the Virgin Islands. This is the fourth presidential appointment for Lewis, who hails from [...]

Arlene Zarembka ’70

Arlene Zarembka ’70 is the recipient of the ACLU–Eastern Missouri Civil Liberties Champion Award for defending civil liberties and rights through her law practice. Her many awards include the 1998 Clarence Darrow Public Interest Advocate Award, 2008 ACLU–Eastern Missouri Extraordinary Volunteer Service Award, and 2009 Social Justice Hero Award. Zarembka was one of the leaders [...]

Roy Weintraub ’64

Roy Weintraub ’64
has been named a Distinguished Fellow of the History of Economics Society (HES). Weintraub, a Duke University faculty member since 1970, was nominated for “promoting an awareness of … the larger social and intellectual context in which economics developed.” The award citation notes that his primary research and influential historiographic approach constitute an [...]

Terese Loeb Kreuzer ’64

Terese Loeb Kreuzer’s [’64], reporting on the James Zadroga 9/11 Health and Compensation Act and its passage by Congress in December 2010 after eight years of struggle, has won Downtown Express, a weekly Manhattan newspaper, an award for political coverage from the New York Press Association. One of the judges said: “I was struck by [...]

Robert Odenweller ’59

Robert Odenweller ’59 was awarded the Royal Philatelic Society London Crawford Medal and the Royal Philatelic Society of New Zealand Collins Award for the book The Postage Stamps of New Zealand, 1855–1873—The Chalon Head Issues, in 2011. Uniquely, he was awarded both in 2005 for the book The Stamps and Postal History of Nineteenth Century [...]