Search the Bulletin

Alumni Achievements

Robert Browning ’34

Robert Browning ’34, a former member of the Swarthmore College Board of Managers, died on Jan. 22 at age 96. Browning worked for General Electric for 10 years, and then, was one of the original 10 partners of the consulting firm now known as Booz Allen Hamilton, where he remained until his retirement in 1968. [...]

Ruth Wolf Page ’42

Ruth Wolf Page ’42 recently published a compilation of servicepersons’ experiences during World War II with three other residents of the Wake Robin Continuing Care Retirement Community in Shelburne, Vt. The quartet spent almost three years fact-checking, editing, and collecting photos of the authors in uniform during the 1940s for the book Our Great War. [...]

Daniel Beshers ’49

Daniel Beshers ‘49 was awarded the Zener Medal at the International Conference on Internal Friction and Mechanical Spectroscopy in Perugia, Italy, last summer. The award recognizes a lifetime of measuring and explaining evidence of atomic motion inside crystalline solids, particularly in ferromagnetic materials. A member of the Columbia University faculty since 1957, Beshers, professor emeritus [...]

Ben Sirman ’62

Ben Sirman ’62 was recognized on Jan. 25 by the Delaware Sportswriters and Broadcasters Association with the Herm Reitzes Award for service to sports. Sirman, who attended Swarthmore on a McCabe Scholarship spent his career as an educator, guidance counselor, coach, administrator, and athletics director. His work was marked by his influential tenures at Bridgeville [...]

Mark Risk ’78

Mark Risk ’78 was elected and installed as a fellow of the College of Labor and Employment Lawyers last September. The College, established in 1995, recognizes lawyers for demonstrating through sustained performance, high professional qualifications and ethical standards as well as character, integrity, and leadership. Risk practices in New York City, principally representing individuals in [...]

Scott Cowger ’82

Scott Cowger ’82 was named to the sixth annual Mainebiz Next List for alternative energy efforts at his inn and conference center in Hallowell, Maine ( Each year, Mainebiz, a business news publication, selects a group of 10 innovative business leaders for inclusion on their Next List. Cowger, co-owner of the Maple Hill Farm Bed [...]

Amy McBride Barker ’92

Amy McBride Barker ’92 was honored with the Governor’s Award of Excellence in Humanities Education from the Missouri Humanities Council (MHC) in October. The Council celebrates those who have contributed to the appreciation of history, literature, and the culture of Missouri. Nominated by the community, Barker is the Advanced Placement English literature and composition teacher [...]

Pablo Reid Mitchell ’92

Pablo Reid Mitchell ’92 was recently named a Class of 2008 Emerging Scholar by Diverse: Issues in Higher Education. The magazine, dedicated to providing information about higher education in the context of educating a growing number of minority students, selects a group of 10 scholars under the age of 40 for their annual list. Mitchell’s [...]