Skip to main content

Changes to the Spring 2021 Academic Calendar

Dear Students, Faculty, and Staff,

We write with an update to the spring 2021 academic calendar. As President Valerie Smith has mentioned in previous community messages, we have learned a great deal from our experience this fall — including the importance of building in more time for our students to regenerate during the spring semester to support their mental and physical well-being. We hope that a genuine break for our students will also slow the pace of meetings and other scheduling demands for our faculty and staff members. 

As such, and after consultation with the Council on Educational Policy, the Curriculum Committee, President Smith and members of her senior staff, and the director of the Honors Program, we have adjusted the spring calendar. While the January Term (J-Term) schedule will not change, you’ll note that the start of the spring semester will begin five days earlier than originally planned; doing so allows us to build in a spring break without extending the semester into June. 

J-Term 2021 (fully remote — no changes to calendar)

  • Monday, Jan. 4: J-Term begins
  • Thursday, Jan. 28: J-Term ends; all papers/projects due
    (Friday, Jan. 29: Spring semester at Haverford and Bryn Mawr colleges begins)

Student Winter Break II

  • Friday, Jan. 29–Tuesday, Feb. 9

Spring 2021

  • Saturday–Tuesday, Feb. 6–9: Staggered arrival of residential students (primarily juniors and seniors)
  • Wednesday, Feb. 10: First day of spring classes
  • Wednesday–Sunday, March 24–28: Spring break
  • Monday, March 29: Classes resume
  • Friday, May 7: Last day of classes
  • Saturday–Wednesday, May 8–12: Reading period
  • Thursday–Thursday, May 13–20: Final exams and honors written exams
  • Friday–Saturday, May 21–22: Study time for honors oral exams
  • Sunday–Tuesday, May 23–25: Honors oral exams
  • Sunday, May 30: Commencement

The College’s online academic calendar has been updated to reflect these changes.

To minimize the spread of COVID-19, and in the interest of the health and safety of our students, faculty, and staff members, residential students will be required to remain on campus during the spring break. The Office of Student Affairs will partner with other departments on campus and students to provide a range of on-campus recreational and social opportunities during the break. We will provide more information on those efforts closer to the break period.

We also want to remind you that registration for spring classes begins Tuesday, Dec. 1, at 8 a.m. and ends Wednesday, Dec. 2, at 4 p.m. You can find more information about Tri-Co registration for classes at Bryn Mawr and Haverford here.

Thank you for your attention to this important information. We wish you a restful and happy holiday break. 

Sincerely, 

Sarah Willie-LeBreton
Provost and Dean of the Faculty

Jim Terhune
Vice President for Student Affairs