Once the Crashplan software is installed on your computer, you will see the Crashplan icon and status indicators in your Finder menu bar.
You do not need to do anything to maintain the software or initiate the backup process. However, you may wish to recover files (or previous versions of files) or check the status of your computer's backup.
Crashplan for Mac FAQ
Crashplan is configured to back up files in your Users folders. This includes your Desktop files and files in your Documents, Music, Movies, Sites and Library folders Files not in this location (ie. at the top level of the hard drive) will not be backed up. Crashplan will back up the user folder of any individual that logs into your Mac.
- Launch the Crashplan Application:
Within the Crashplan application, chose Restore. Check the box to Show deleted files.
- Find the file or folder to recover:
- Either Search for a file name or browse to the folder or file you want to restore. If there are multiple versions of a file, you will see different dates indicating when each version was backed up.
- Deleted files will show up as greyed-out with the Trash icon.
- Check the box next to the file or folder and version number you want to recover.
- Where the file is restored:
- Crashplan will restore files to the same location they were backed up from, or you can choose to restore to another folder by clicking the blue text under ‘Restore’. If another version of the file already exists in that location, the restored file will be named original1.filename.
- Once you are satisfied with these options, click Restore.
Pull down the Crashplan application icon from the task bar. The status bar should tell you when your next backup will run. You can choose to run the backup immediately by clicking the arrow next to status.
To view a more detailed backup report, open the Crashplan application. Under Backup you can view the directories that are set to backup. Under the Destinations section, Cloud tab you can see the size of your backup.