Student Groups

What is the difference between the study and practice of religion?

We encourage both! Some people are raised in a faith tradition and continue to find deep meaning in the beliefs and practices of that tradition. Some people do not grow up with any religious tradition but are interested in learning more about different religions. And many others find themselves somewhere in between, or moving along a spectrum at different points in their lives.

Interfaith programs at Swarthmore welcome everyone: those who have a faith tradition, those interested in learning about religious faith, those who would like to dialogue with others from different traditions. We also encourage ALL students to explore the study of religion more deeply with an intellectual lens by enrolling in classes in the Religion Department. The academic study of Religion can bring new insights into the understanding of one's own faith tradition and those of others. It can build literacy and sensitivity to the diverse facets of belief and practice of all religions. And it can build tools for dialogue and understanding in our increasingly inter-dependent world. View religion department courses.

Student Group Leaders

Hindu Club: Abha Lal (alal1@swarthmore.edu)

Kehilah: Simona M. Dwass (sdwass1@swarthmore.edu) and Jamie B Starr (jstarr2@swarthmore.edu)

Muslim Student Association: Yousaf  Ravzi (yravzi1@swarthmore.edu)

Newman Catholic Ministry: Emily Kibby (ekibby1@swarthmore.edu)

Sitting Group: Henry Cappel (hcappel1@swarthmore.edu)

Swarthmore Christian Fellowship: Daniel Park (wpark1@swarthmore.edu) and volunteer alumna Shirley Ramirez (ramirez.shirleym@gmail.com)

Swarthmore Progressive Christians: Jeremy Seitz-Brown  (jseitzb1@swarthmore.edu)

Interfaith Interns

Mohammad Boozamajehri (mboozam1@swarthmore.edu)
Abha Lal (alal1@swarthmore.edu)
Sarah Revesz (srevesz1@swarthmore.edu)