IC Groups 2015 - 2016

Show/Hide Table

Student Group Leaders
Leaders Student Org Email
Cesar Cruz Benitez ABLLE ccruzbe1@swarthmore.edu
Xavier Lee ABLLE xlee1@swarthmore.edu
George Abraham PACS (Pan Arab Cultural Society) gabraha1@swarthmore.edu
Allison Alcena Colors aalcena1@swarthmore.edu
David Ortiz Colors dortiz2@swarthmore.edu
Esteban Colors ecabrer1@swarthmore.edu
Aamia Maalik DESHI amalik1@swarthmore.edu
Jimmy Shah DESHI jshah1@swarthmore.edu
Rida Hassan DESHI rhassan1@swarthmore.edu
Vivek Ramanan DESHI vramana1@swarthmore.edu
Ziyana Popat DESHI zpopat1@swarthmore.edu
Alondra Rosales ENLACE arosale1@swarthmore.edu
Cesar Cruz Benitez ENLACE ccruzbe1@swarthmore.edu
Guadalupe (Lupita) Barrientos ENLACE gbarrie1@swarthmore.edu
Kat Galvis ENLACE kgalvis1@swarthmore.edu
Max Hernandez ENLACE mhernan2@swarthmore.edu
Michelle Castellanos ENLACE mcastel2@swarthmore.edu
Quetzal Ramirez ENLACE qramire1@swarthmore.edu
Uriel Espino ENLACE umedina1@swarthmore.edu
Jong In Jun HAN jjun1@swarthmore.edu
     
Charolotte Iwasaki HAPA ciwasak1@swarthmore.edu
Dominic Sonkowsky HAPA dsonkow1@swarthmore.edu
Emma Lewis HAPA elewis1@swarthmore.edu
Damien Ding i20 hding2@swarthmore.edu
Istvan Cselotei i20 icselot1@swarthmore.edu
Dalia Castro Kizuna dcastro2@swarthmore.edu
Sushyam Ravi Kizuna sravi2@swarthmore.edu
Tatsuya Ueda Kizuna tueda1@swarthmore.edu
Fatima Boozarjomehri MSA fboozar1@swarthmore.edu
Muhaiminul Haque MSA mhaque2@swarthmore.edu
Salman Saafir MSA ssafir1@swarthmore.edu
Aamia Maalik MULTI amalik1@swarthmore.edu
Beatriz Baker MULTI bbaker1@swarthmore.edu
Casey Liu Simon-Plum MULTI csimonp1@swarthmore.edu
Chris Malafronti MULTI cmalafr1@swarthmore.edu
Daniela Dani Nertheimer MULTI dwerthe1@swarthmore.edu
Diondra Straiton MULTI dstrait1@swarthmore.edu
Kimberly Canzoneri MULTI kcanzon1@swarthmore.edu
Sheldon Ray Forman MULTI sforema1@swarthmore.edu
Daniel Orr NASA dorr1@swarthmore.edu
Davis Logan NASA dlogan1@swarthmore.edu
Julia Wakeford NASA jwakefo1@swarthmore.edu
Annie Zhao PersuAsian azhao2@swarthmore.edu
Avni Fatehpuria PersuAsian afatehp1@swarthmore.edu
Dominic Sonkowsky PersuAsian dsonkow1@swarthmore.edu
Sam Mori PersuAsian smori1@swarthmore.edu
Alice Liu SAO aliu1@swarthmore.edu
Bryan Lin SAO blin1@swarthmore.edu
Daniel Lai SAO dlai2@swarthmore.edu
Ellen Liu SAO eliu2@swarthmore.edu
Kevin Lai SAO klai1@swarthmore.edu
Leon Chen SAO lchen3@swarthmore.edu
Lesia Liao SAO lliao1@swarthmore.edu
Li Tian SAO ltian1@swarthmore.edu
Sonya Chen SAO schen4@swarthmore.edu
Aaliyah Dillon SOLIS adillio1@swarthmore.edu
Barbara Pham SOLIS bpham1@swarthmore.edu
Cat Velez SOLIS cvelezp1@swarthmore.edu
Cesar Cruz Benitez SOLIS ccruzbe1@swarthmore.edu
Delfin Buico SOLIS dbuyco1@swarthmore.edu
Barbara Taylor SQU btaylor2@swarthmore.edu
Canaan Breiss SQU (Swarthmore Queer Union) cbreiss1@swarthmore.edu
Christen Boas-Hayes SQU (Swarthmore Queer Union) cboasha1@swarthmore.edu
Claudia Lo SQU (Swarthmore Queer Union) clo1@swarthmore.edu
Gabriela Key SQU (Swarthmore Queer Union) gkey1@swarthmore.edu
Gretchen Trupp SQU (Swarthmore Queer Union) gtrupp1@swarthmore.edu
Kate Collins SQU (Swarthmore Queer Union) kcollin3@swarthmore.edu
Kate Musen SQU (Swarthmore Queer Union) kmusen1@swarthmore.edu
Margaret Hughes SQU (Swarthmore Queer Union) mhughes2@swarthmore.edu
Tom Corbani SQU (Swarthmore Queer Union) tcorban1@swarthmore.edu
Jennifer Beltran QSN (Questbridge Scholars Network) jbeltra1@swarthmore.edu
Kelly Hernandez QSN (Questbridge Scholars Network) khernan2@swarthmore.edu
Jennifer Beltran QSN (Questbridge Scholars Network) jbeltra1@swarthmore.edu
Kimberly Rosa QSN (Questbridge Scholars Network) krosape1@swarthmore.edu
Kate Musen QSA (Queer Straight Alliance) kmusen1@swarthmore.edu
Kate Collins QSA (Queer Straight Alliance) kcollin3@swarthmore.edu
Anthony Chiarenza QSA (Queer Straight Alliance) achiare1@swarthmore.edu
Yijia (Tracy) Tang Swarthmore Chinese Society (SCS) ytang2@swarthmore.edu
Fengjun (Jack) Yang Swarthmore Chinese Society (SCS) fyang1@swarthmore.edu
Kevin M. Lai Swarthmore Chinese Society (SCS) klai1@swarthmore.edu
Shirley Cheung Swarthmore Chinese Society (SCS) scheung1@swarthmore.edu
Han (Bill) Huang Swarthmore Chinese Society (SCS) hhuan2@swarthmore.edu
Shuang Guan Swarthmore Chinese Society (SCS) sguan1@swarthmore.edu
Ke (Will) Wang Swarthmore Chinese Society (SCS) kwang2@swarthmore.edu
Bilige (Billy) Yang Swarthmore Chinese Society (SCS) byang1@swarthmore.edu
George Zhu Swarthmore Chinese Society (SCS) xzhu1@swarthmore.edu

ABLLE

 

Leaders Email
Cesar Cruz Benitez ccruzbe1@swarthmore.edu
Xavier Lee xlee1@swarthmore.edu

Back to top.


 

Colors

Board Meeting Times: Mondays at 5:30 pm

Leaders Email
Allison Alcena aalcena1@swarthmore.edu
Esteban ecabrer1@swarthmore.edu
David Ortiz dortiz2@swarthmore.edu

Founded in 2001, Colors is a student group only for students who identify both as LGBTQ and as people of color. Colors members meet in Sharples Room 6 at 5:30 PM every Monday, and in the SQU Room at 9:30 PM every Friday. Colors is an informal space where queer students of color can talk about their experiences being queer, being of color, and being both at the same time. Colors is open to queer students who identify as multiracial, and does not reject anyone based on physical appearance.

Back to top.


DESHI

Group Meeting Times: Thursdays, 6-7pm, Sharples

DESHI is an organization committed to the social, cultural, and intellectual exchange amongst people with a special interest in South Asia (Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, the Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka.)

Leaders Email
Aamia Maalik

amalik1@swarthmore.edu

Jimmy Shah

jshah1@swarthmore.edu
Rida Hassan rhassan1@swarthmore.edu
Vivek Ramanan vramana1@swarthmore.edu
Ziyana Popat zpopat1@swarthmore.edu

Back to top.


ENLACE

Board Meeting Times: 

<Description>

Leaders Email
Cesar Cruz Benitez ccruzbe1@swarthmore.edu
Alondra Rosales arosale1@swarthmore.edu
Guadalupe (Lupita) Barrientos gbarrie1@swarthmore.edu
Kat Galvis kgalvis1@swarthmore.edu
Max Hernandez mhernan2@swarthmore.edu
Michelle Castellanos mcastel2@swarthmore.edu
Quetzal Ramirez qramire1@swarthmore.edu
Uriel Espino umedina1@swarthmore.edu

Back to top.


HAN

Group Meeting Times: Wednesdays, 5-7pm, Sharples Room 209

Our mission is to foster pan-Korean interaction and friendship within the group as well as with members of the Swarthmore community interested in Korean culture. We hope to promote interest in and understanding of Korean culture across campus and amongst its members. HAN does not articulate a particular political stance.

Leaders Email
Jong In Jun jjun1@swarthmore.edu
Cindy Lim slim1@swarthmore.edu
Hunter Lee hlee6@swarthmore.edu
Aaron Kang akang2@swarthmore.edu
Chris You dyou1@swarthmore.edu
Elise Kim ekim4@swarthmore.edu
Ji Ho Jang jjang1@swarthmore.edu

Back to top.


HAPA

Leaders Email
Charolotte Iwasaki ciwasak1@swarthmore.edu
Dominic Sonkowsky dsonkow1@swarthmore.edu
Emma Lewis elewis1@swarthmore.edu

Back to top.


i20

Group Meeting Times: Tuesdays, 5-7pm, Sharples 4

The goal of i20, international club, is to bring together the international community at Swarthmore College. The club creates a platform for the exchange of cultures and the discussion of issues pertaining to international students.

Leaders Email
Damien Ding hding2@swarthmore.edu
Istvan Cselotei icselot1@swarthmore.edu

Back to top.


Kizuna

Group Meeting Times: 5:30-6:30pm, Sharples Room 209

Kizuna is a group that aims to promote Japanese culture through group events and All campus events. This year we have been mainly focusing on cooking aspect of the culture and we will be doing more events such as curry events and Ride the tide Asian food night.

Leaders Email
Dalia Castro dcastro2@swarthmore.edu
Sushyam Ravi sravi2@swarthmore.edu
Tatsuya Ueda tueda1@swarthmore.edu

Back to top.


Swarthmore College Muslim Student Association (MSA)

Discussion Meeting Times: Wednesday, 7-8:30pm, Tarble 312

Friday Prayers: Fridays, 1-2pm, Tarble 312 

Swarthmore College Muslim Student Association (MSA) functions as an open group, providing a support system for its members through regular meetings, establishing regular congregational prayers, and connecting Swarthmore with the Tri-Co interfaith community. Additionally, MSA works to educate the larger campus community about Islam and the experiences of Muslims from various backgrounds, and serves as a resource to promote knowledge, understanding, and positive interactions among students, faculty and staff on campus.

Leaders Email
Fatima Boozarjomehri fboozar1@swarthmore.edu
Muhaiminul Haque mhaque2@swarthmore.edu
Salman Saafir ssafir1@swarthmore.edu

 

Back to top.


MULTI

Leaders Email
Aamia Maalik amalik1@swarthmore.edu
Beatriz Baker bbaker1@swarthmore.edu
Casey Liu Simon-Plum csimonp1@swarthmore.edu
Chris Malafronti cmalafr1@swarthmore.edu
Daniela Dani Nertheimer dwerthe1@swarthmore.edu
Diondra Straiton dstrait1@swarthmore.edu
Kimberly Canzoneri kcanzon1@swarthmore.edu
Sheldon Ray Forman sforema1@swarthmore.edu

Back to top.


Munazamat al-Amal

Group Meeting Times: Saturdays, 3pm, IC Big Room (Biweekly)

Munazamat al-Amal is a cultural group and political movements that advocates for the peoples and causes of Greater Syria, which is the geographically bounded region roughly corresponding to the modern countries of Syria, Lebanon, Historic Palestine, Jordan, Iraq, Kuwait, and Cyprus. Al-Amal, which is Arabic for "hope," seeks to provide an alternative space that supports social, cultural, and political resistance in the absence of strong groups like that on campus. The group is open to all community members who express interest and support.

Back to top.


Native American Student Association (NASA)

Board Meeting Times: 

<Description>

Leaders Email
Daniel Orr dorr1@swarthmore.edu
Davis Logan dlogan1@swarthmore.edu
Julia Wakeford jwakefo1@swarthmore.edu

Back to top.


PersuAsian

Board Meeting Times: 

PersuAsian is a group for those who identify as both queer and Asian.

Leaders Email
Annie Zhao azhao2@swarthmore.edu
Avni Fatehpuria afatehp1@swarthmore.edu
Dominic Sonkowsky dsonkow1@swarthmore.edu
Sam Mori smori1@swarthmore.edu

Back to top.


Picante

Board Meeting Times: 

Picante is a group for those who identify as both queer and Hispanic or Latin@.

Back to top.


QSA

Leaders Email

Kate Musen

kmusen1@swarthmore.edu

Kate Collins kcollin3@swarthmore.edu
Anthony Chiarenza achiare1@swarthmore.edu

Back to top.


Queer Trans Conference (QTC)

Board Meeting Times: 

For the last twenty years, Swarthmore College has hosted an annual conference called the Queer and Trans Conference, or QTC (formerly the Sager Symposium), on a current topic for the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer community. QTC is currently a student organized event--free and open to the public!--held at the end of March. The QTC Planning Committee meets regularly all year to plan and coordinate the conference, as well as a series of smaller events in the fall. In the past few years, symposia have explored sexual politics in the bedroom, boardroom, and classroom, queer media, coalition building across queer differences, queer people of color, the intersections of race, religion, and gender, queer activism, same-sex marriage and queer families, and transgender movements.

Website

Back to top.


Swarthmore Asian Organization (SAO)

Group Meeting Times: Tuesdays, 7:30-9pm, Big IC Room

Swarthmore Asian Organization provides a support community for Swarthmore students who identify themselves as Asian/Pacific Islander Americans. Our meetings are primarily discussion-based, though we also take time to hold study breaks. During our meetings, we discuss Asian-American issues that cover broad topics such as identity, education, politics, current events, and popular culture. Additionally, we work to make inroads with the greater Philadelphia area Asian/Pacific Islander American community. Despite being defined as a “closed” group, we try our utmost to interact with and involve the entire Swarthmore community as much as we can. To that end, we make great efforts in planning campus-wide events, most notably during APIA Month.

Website

Leaders Email

Alice Liu

aliu1@swarthmore.edu

Bryan Lin blin1@swarthmore.edu
Daniel Lai dlai2@swarthmore.edu
Ellen Liu eliu2@swarthmore.edu
Kevin Lai klai1@swarthmore.edu
Leon Chen lchen3@swarthmore.edu
Lesia Liao lliao1@swarthmore.edu
Li Tian ltian1@swarthmore.edu
Sonya Chen

schen4@swarthmore.edu

Back to top.


Southeast Asian Student Association (SEASA)

Board Meeting Times: 

<Description>

Back to top.


Swarthmore Organization for Low Income Students (SOLIS)

Group Meeting Times: Thursdays, 7-8 pm, Big IC Room

Because low-income students are a diverse group that face a common set of unique issues, Swarthmore Organization of Low-Income Students (SOLIS) creates a safe space for social development and networking for low-income students, to let them know they are not alone in the Swarthmore College community by: • Helping low-income students balance the cultures at home and at Swarthmore through guidance from upperclassmen and alumni who also come from low-income backgrounds
• Working with College faculty and staff to equip low-income students with practical, applicable skills (e.g. budgeting, applying for financial aid)
• Working with College faculty and staff to promote programs and scholarships provided by the College that would help close the class gap in academics (e.g. Rubin Mentorship Program)
• Encouraging low-income students to be active in student government, student organizations, and social justice groups, so that these students may have a greater voice in the Swarthmore community
• Promoting social mobility by helping local high school students through college access groups

Leaders Email

Aaliyah Dillon

adillio1@swarthmore.edu

Barbara Pham bpham1@swarthmore.edu
Cat Velez cvelezp1@swarthmore.edu
Cesar Cruz Benitez ccruzbe1@swarthmore.edu
Delfin Buico dbuyco1@swarthmore.edu

Back to top.


SQU

Swarthmore Queer Union (SQU)

Board Meeting Times: Sundays at 2:00 pm

The Swarthmore Queer Union (SQU) is a community group for lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans, queer and questioning students. SQU is one of Swarthmore's LGBTQ groups. SQU meetings take place every Wednesday at 10pm in the big room of the Intercultural Center. These meetings are only for LGBTQ students, and are confidential.

Website

Back to top.


SCS

Leaders Email

Yijia (Tracy) Tang  

ytang2@swarthmore.edu
Fengjun (Jack) Yang  fyang1@swarthmore.edu
Kevin M. Lai klai1@swarthmore.edu
Shirley Cheung  scheung1@swarthmore.edu
Han (Bill) Huang   hhuan2@swarthmore.edu
Shuang Guan  sguan1@swarthmore.edu
Ke (Will) Wang   kwang2@swarthmore.edu
Bilige (Billy) Yang byang1@swarthmore.edu
George Zhu   xzhu1@swarthmore.edu

Back to top.