Records, 1921-1975
©Swarthmore College Peace Collection
500 College Avenue, Swarthmore, PA 19050

Scope & Content Notes

[return to Table of Contents]

The records of the National Council for Prevention of War (NCPW) include meeting minutes of the Executive Board (1921-1973), meeting minutes of the Annual Meetings, financial records, and correspondence, all for the years 1921-1975. Most correspondence concerning the speaking engagements of Frederick J. Libby (FJL) will be found in General Correspondence (letters by FJL and Gladys Gould Mackenzie). Also available are departmental and branch office records, and NCPW published material, including complete files of the News Bulletin (1921-1934) and Peace Action (1934-1968), as well its the group's other periodicals. Series F contains a variety of material that documents the NCPW's specific endeavors. Also included are manuscripts and drafts of FJL's book, To End War (1969), his writings, speeches, and attacks upon both him and the NCPW. Dissertations and manuscripts about the NCPW are also available, as are photographs, posters, scrapbooks, and memorabilia.

Series letters, and in some cases titles, were added to this checklist in Sept. 2005 to make it conformable to other such finding aids.

Microfilming of these papers was completed through box 373, of Series F, with 315 reels of film. The two digit number (41) preceding the reel number (such as 41:100), as seen throughout the checklist, has been designated by the Peace Collection to differentiate this set of microfilm from sets for other archival collections. Boxes that have corresponding microfilm are being stored off-site as of 2005. The microfilm may be borrowed three reels at a time through inter-library loan.

Correspondents include Alden G. Alley, Emily Greene Balch, Roger N. Baldwin, Albion P. Beverage, Florence Brewer Boeckel, Clement Biddle, Carrie Chapman Catt, James F. Finucane, Raymond Fosdick, Sidney L. Gulick, Paul Harris Jr., Frederick J. Libby, Gladys K.G. Mackenzie, A.J. Muste, Jesse M. MacKnight, Lucia Ames Mead, Laura Puffer Morgan, Ray Newton, Carrie Wyckoff Ormsbee, Jeannette Rankin, John Nevin Sayre, Rosika Schwimmer, Norman Thomas, Oswald Garrison Villard, E. Raymond Wilson, and Mary Ida Winder.

return to top