About the Founders...


Martha Ellicott Tyson (1795-1873)


Samuel Willets (1795-1883)

The establishment of Swarthmore College was the work of many hands and minds. Prominent among them, for their work on Quaker concerns as well as for their work to establish the College, were Martha Ellicott Tyson, Benjamin Hallowell, Samuel McPherson Janney, Lucretia Coffin Mott, and Samuel Willets.


Benjamin Hallowell (1799-1868)


Lucretia Coffin Mott (1793-1880)


Samuel McPherson Janney (1801-80)


Text prepared by Beth Bartle
Last update: 5/31/02